Chicago

Marketplace

HomeChicago

Authors & Architects of Oak Park

Authors & Architects of Oak Park

Choose Your Date

Price

$75
View More Info
Authors & Architects of Oak Park
Authors & Architects of Oak Park

More Information

Highlights 
– Explore one of Chicago’s most affluent areas
– Sample a local favorite ice cream
– Tour the Oak Park neighborhood full of homes built by famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright
– Visit the birth home of Pulitzer Prize winning author Ernest Hemingway

Description

Visit the upscale suburb of Oak Park for an afternoon learning about two of the town’s most famous residents. We’ll start with a walking tour viewing the many houses built by renowned architect Frank Lloyd Wright who lived and worked in the town for over 30 years. Then, we’ll head to the birth home of Ernest Hemingway, author of classics like A Farewell to Arms and The Sun Also Rises, for a tour of the house.

Who This Experience Is Good For
Fans of Hemingway, Frank Lloyd Wright and architecture. Anyone who wants to explore a charming, culturally diverse, leafy green neighborhood outside Chicago.

Difficulty Level 
Easy, we will be on foot.

Meet Our Local Host
Meet Gulia - "I love history and always learn new things about the neighborhood I live in. I love walking tours myself and have taken them when I travel around the world. Now I decided to offer one in my lovely neighborhood!"

Itinerary
1pm - Depart Selina and take the ‘El’ out to the suburbs.
2pm - Arrive Oak Park. Meet our guide Gulia at the Oak Park Library for the Frank Lloyd Wright architecture walking tour (1 hr)
3pm - Visit Oberweis ice cream parlor for a treat, then relax in Scofield Park .
4pm - Tour the Queen Anne’s birth home Ernest Hemingway (1 hr)

*Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright may wish to go in the morning to tour his home and studio. This museum will be closed by the time our event finishes.

**There’s lots to do in Oak Park. Why not stick around for dinner? Check out Gulia’s list of recommended places to eat! Or catch the free outdoor summer concert series at Scolville Park!

What's Included
- Local Guide
- Walking tour
- Entry fee to Hemingway home
- Ice cream
- Ground Transportation - 1 day travel pass

What's Not Included
- Tips for local guide

- Food or drinks not mentioned

Know Before You Go 
- Wear comfortable walking shoes
- Rain or shine event
- Tips are appreciated

Minimum To Operate
1 people

Maximum Capacity
No max

Deadline To Book
4 days prior to the start of the experience

Frequently Asked Questions

Nation Reviews

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

You Might Also Like These

Kayak & Fireworks
Kayak & Fireworks
Kayak & Fireworks
Kayak & Fireworks
Kayak & Fireworks
Kayak & Fireworks

Kayak & Fireworks

$65
View Details
Jazzin' at the Shedd
Jazzin' at the Shedd

Jazzin' at the Shedd

$55
View Details
Deep Dish Pizza Making Class
Deep Dish Pizza Making Class
Deep Dish Pizza Making Class
Deep Dish Pizza Making Class
Deep Dish Pizza Making Class

Deep Dish Pizza Making Class

$45
View Details
Chicago Style Magic Workshop and Secret Show
Chicago Style Magic Workshop and Secret Show
Chicago Style Magic Workshop and Secret Show

Chicago Style Magic Workshop and Secret Show

$118
View Details
Chicago Music & Dance Workshop
Chicago Music & Dance Workshop
Chicago Music & Dance Workshop

Chicago Music & Dance Workshop

$75
View Details
Urban Farming
Urban Farming
Urban Farming
Urban Farming
Urban Farming
Urban Farming
Urban Farming
Urban Farming

Urban Farming

$75
View Details
Work & Connect Package
Work & Connect Package

Work & Connect Package

$250
View Details